News and Interviews

Photos! Poets go Glam at the Griffin Prize Gala

There's no bigger bash for poetry (or arguably, for books in Canada) than the Griffin Prize Gala - and no better place to see your favourite poets cut a rug. On June 8, 2017 poets, publishers, book media, donors, and more gathered at Toronto's Distillery District to celebrate all things poetry. 

The winners were announced: Alice Oswald won the International Griffin Prize for her collection Falling Awake (Jonathan Cape/W.W. Norton & Company) while Jordan Abel won the Canadian Griffin Prize for his collection Injun (Talonbooks). Then it was time to dance, celebrate, and revel in a night dedicated to poetry, poets, and poetry lovers. 

Check out our interview will all of the nominated writers, and don't miss photos from the event itself (below), courtesy of the Griffin Trust. 

Maureen Scott Harris, Kitty Lewis, Erin Knight, Adam Dickinson

Joan Naviyuk Kane, Dale Smith, Hoa Nguyen

Jordan Abel, Chelsea Novak, Kevin Williams, Heidi Waechtler

Adam Sol, Erin Knight, Adam Dickinson

Soraya Peerbaye & Bianca Spence

Mark Medley & Alana Wilcox

Abdellatif Laabi & Krystyne Griffin

Frank Bidart

Susan G. Cole, Jessica Cooney, Melissa Shirley

Erin Soros

Lois Lorimer, Catherine Graham, Susan Perly (Dennis Lee in background)


For more information about the Griffin Prize, please visit their website